Article: Top 10 MAMA ‘Album Of The Year’ Winners

The MAMA is a prestigious music award ceremony that recognizing and celebrating excellence in the Asian music industry. The 'Album Of The Year' award is given to the album that has made a significantly impacted and achieved outstanding commercial success in the Asian music market. So, if you are interested in knowing if your favorite artist got this award or not, then below are the top 10 MAMA ‘Album Of The Year’ winners.


Proof is the first anthology album published by South Korean group BTS on June 10, 2022, through Big Hit Music. The album's lead hit "Yet to Come (The Most Beautiful Moment)," as well as "Run BTS," "For Youth," "Quotation Mark," and "Young Love," are among the five new tracks included. The disc contains all of BTS' lead singles from "No More Dream" to "Butter," as well as the new single "Yet to Come (The Most Beautiful Moment)," which serves as the album's lead track. 2013's song "Born Singer" is also included.

2. BTS- BE

Be is the ninth studio album by BTS and the fifth in the Korean language. It was released on 20 November 2020. Be is a pop record encompassing the hip-hop, EDM, and disco genres with elements of synth-pop, funk, and R&B. Described by BTS as "a letter of hope," the album was BTS' fifth to debut at number one on the Billboard 200, making BTS the fastest group to earn five chart-topping albums in the United States since the Beatles. BTS took inspiration from their emotions they felt during the pandemic to write songs for the album and convey their thoughts. It was created out of frustration, anxiety, and powerlessness. The album includes songs like Life Goes On, Fly to My Room, Blue and Grey, telepathy, dis-ease, stay, and many more.

3. BTS

Map of the Soul: 7 and Map of the soul: Persona. Map of the Soul: 7 is the seventh studio album by South Korean boy band BTS and their fourth in the Korean language. The album came out on February 21, 2020. It's the follow-up to their 2019 EP Map of the Soul: Persona, and it has five tracks from that release. With this album, BTS collaborated with artists including Halsey, Ed Sheeran, Troye Sivan, and Sia. Map of the Soul: 7 was a major financial success, hitting number one in over 20 countries. Black Swan was on there, as well as a few classics. Released on 12 April 2019 by Big Hit Entertainment, "Boy with Luv" serves as the lead song from Map of the Soul: Persona.

4. BTS- Love Yourself: Tear

Love Yourself: Tear is the third Korean-language and sixth overall studio album by South Korean boy band BTS. On May 18, 2018, the album was officially released. The album debuted at the top of the Billboard 200 in the United States. It includes solo songs by some artists, which are Singularity by V, The Truth Untold, Airplane PT2, Euphoria by Junkook, and Magic Shop, created by Junkook and sung by all the members.

5. EXO- The War, Ex'Act

The War is Exo's fourth full-length studio album. SM Entertainment made it available online on July 18 and in stores on July 19 of the same year. With "Ko Ko Bop," the group made history by being the first K-pop act to join the Melon Realtime Chart at the top. The South Korean boy band Exo has released their third studio album, titled Ex'Act. Korean and Chinese versions were both published on June 9th, 2016 by SM Entertainment. On the Billboard World Digital Songs list, "Monster" peaked at #1 while "Lucky One" peaked at #3.

6. EXO

Albums by EXO that were recognized as best of the year include Exodus, Overdose, and XOXO. The South Korean boy band Exo has released their second studio album, titled Exodus. SM Entertainment published it on March 30, 2015. In Japan, the album hit the top 10 of the Oricon Weekly Albums Chart, peaking at numbers four (Korean) and seven (Chinese), respectively. Overdose is the third studio album by Exo-K and Exo-M, the South Korean-Chinese boy bands. Both the Korean and Chinese versions were released by SM Entertainment on May 7th, 2014. Released on June 3, 2013 by SM Entertainment, XOXO is South Korean boy band Exo's first studio album. The album sold over a million copies, placing it among the best-selling albums in Korea and earning it the title of "Album of the Year" at the 2013 Mnet Asian Music Awards.

7. Super Junior

Mr. Simple, Sexy, Free & Single are the award winning albums. The South Korean boy band Super Junior released their fifth studio album, titled Mr. Simple. On August 3, 2011, SM Entertainment released it to the public. The previous album, Bonamana, featured 11 of the original 13, and this new one features ten. At both the 26th Golden Disk Awards and the 21st Seoul Music Awards, the album took home the coveted Disk Daesang Award. South Korean boy band Super Junior has released their sixth studio album, titled Sexy, Free & Single. On July 4, 2012, SM Entertainment dropped it. The album won Album of the Year at the 14th Mnet Asian Music Awards and Disc Daesang at the 27th Golden Disc Awards.

8. 2NE1- To Anyone

2NE1 is a girl group from South Korea, and their first studio album is titled To Anyone. On September 9, 2010, YG Entertainment released the album to the public. To Anyone is mostly a pop album, although it also features prominent dance and R&B undertones. On September 11, 2010, To Anyone was released, and it immediately became a hit. The album also topped the charts from September through November. The album peaked at #7 on the Billboard 200 in the United States. By the end of 2010, the album had sold a total of 122,845 copies.

9. G-Dragon- Heartbreaker

Heartbreaker is the debut album by South Korean singer-songwriter and rapper G-Dragon, a member of Big Bang. The chart-topping single "Heartbreaker," became one of the best-selling singles in South Korea of all time, having sold over 4 million copies since its release. G-Dragon collaborated with Teddy Park of 1TYM, bandmate Taeyang, and CL and Dara of 2NE1. The lead single, "Heartbreaker," was number one on multiple charts, including the Mnet and Melon Music charts, while "Breathe" was ranked in the Top 20.

10. TVXQ- Mirotic

The South Korean boy band TVXQ released their fourth studio album in their native language on September 26, 2008 via S.M. Entertainment. The album is TVXQ's most commercially successful to date and is regarded as a critical masterpiece. At the Seoul Music Awards, Mirotic was named best-selling album of 2008 after it debuted at number one on the Hanteo charts and sold 110 thousand units in its first week. The sixth Korean studio album of South Korean boy band Super Junior is titled Sexy, Free & Single. SM Entertainment released it on July 4, 2012.