Article: Top 10 Underrated Korean Rock Artists You Must Listen To

K-pop music stands for Korean Popular music. Today, K-pop rules the world, and while the Pop groups are pretty well-known and attract most fans from around the world, their fame kind of overshadows some other parts of K-pop like K-rock, K-indie, etc. These genres are not that popular among the K-pop fans. But that does not mean that these bands deserve any less fame than the K-pop groups. Here are ten underrated Korean Rock artists you must listen to.

1. The Rose

This underrated K-rock band is slowly getting their much-deserved fame. The Rose debuted on August 3, 2017, with the single "Sorry". The band is composed of four members: Kim Woosung (vocalist and guitarist), Park Dojoon (keyboardist and vocalist), Lee Hajoon (drummer), and Lee Jaehyung (bassist). The Rose has been popular among their Korean audience even before their debut thanks to their incredible busking ability. Some musical pieces from their versatile discography are "RED," "She's In The Rain," "Back To Me," etc. The Rose is under their self-made label called Windfall.

2. Lucy

Lucy is a one-of-a-kind band. What makes them unique is the rare sound of their music. The sound of the violin in their songs makes the band unique among the bands of this generation. The members of LUCY are Shin Yechan (leader and violinist), Choi Sangyeop (vocalist and guitarist), Cho Wonsang (producer and bassist), and Shin Gwangil (vocalist and drummer). The band participated in JTBC's survival show "Superband" in 2019 and debuted on May 8, 2020, with the album "Dear" under the company Mystic Story. Some of their songs are "Flowering," "Jogging," "Unbelievable," "Haze," etc.

3. Se So Neon

SE SO NEON is an Indie-Rock band. Although they debuted as a trio, the band currently has only two members: Hwang Soyoon (vocalist and guitarist) and Park Hyunjin (bassist). SE SO NEON debuted on June 20, 2017, with the single "A Long Dream" under the entertainment agency Magic Strawberry Sound. The band is slowly getting to their fame. Soyoon has even collaborated with BTS' RM in one of her solo songs, "Smoke Sprite." "NAN CHUN," "Winter," and "Go Back" are some of their popular songs. Some of their songs also include psychedelic elements, which makes the band to be unique in their own way.

4. Jannabi

JANNABI debuted on April 28, 2014, with the single album "Rocket," under Peponi Music. The band initially debuted with five members, but currently, it consists of two members: Choi Junghoon (vocalist, guitarist, producer, and songwriter) and Kim Dohyung (guitarist and backup vocalist). If you are an avid K-rock enjoyer, you must have listened to JANNABI's viral song "for lovers who hesitate", which won the Best Digital Song award at the 2020 Golden Disk Awards. Some of their other songs include "A thought on an autumn night," "dreams, books, power and walls," "She," etc. JANNABI won the band Performer of the Year award in 2023 The Fact Music Awards.

5. Nell

This Korean Alt Rock band has been around for ages. Forming independently back in 2001, NELL has been creating history with their music till now. After moving from one entertainment company to the other, the band is currently under a label named Space Bohemian. NELL consists of Kim Jongwan (vocalist and keyboardist), Lee Jaekyung (guitarist), and Lee Junghoon (bassist). Drummer Jung Jaewon left the band in June 2023. NELL is mainly known for its gloomy psychedelic sound. The band has achieved fame with songs such as "Stay," "Time Walking on Memories," "Moon Shower," etc.

6. Nerd Connection

When talking about versatility in music among the Korean rock bands, we cannot leave out Nerd Connection. The band debuted on August 14, 2018, with the single "Hymn of the Birds". Nerd Connection consists of Shin Yeontae (drummer), Choi Seungwon (leader and guitarist), Seo Youngjoo (vocalist and guitarist), and Park Jaehyun (bassist). The band draws inspiration from Western rock bands like Coldplay and Radiohead, as well as Korean music legends like NELL. Nerd Connection has embraced a bunch of different genres and subgenres into their music. It is truly a one-of-a-kind experience to listen to their music.

7. Jaurim

Jaurim is one of the pioneers who helped Indie music gain popularity among the Koreans in the late 90s. Originally debuting as a four-member band, Jaurim now consists of three members: Kim Younha (vocalist, guitarist, keyboardist, and songwriter), Kim Jinman (bassist and guitarist), and Lee Sunkyu (guitarist and vocalist). The band became major with their first single, "Hey Hey Hey". Jaurim is praised for their arrangements and wide range of discography, which discusses universal struggles like angst, loneliness, LGBTQ+ representation, and homelessness.

8. Band Nah

Band Nah debuted on July 7, 2014, with the song "Late Dawn". The members of the band are Na Sunghyun (vocalist and guitarist), Baek Seungryeol (bassist), and Kang Hyunwoong (drummer). The band's uplifting and hopeful lyrics have made it one of the best and most respected musical acts of the nation. Some of their popular songs are "pathetic!", "Lily of the Valley", and "Spotlight". K-drama fans might recognize the band's music from shows such as "Yumi's Cells" and "Mental Coach Jegal."

9. N.Flying

N.Flying is another amazing K-rock band. They debuted twice: once in Japan (October 1, 2013) and then again in Korea (May 20, 2015). N.Flying defines its music mostly with Rap and Alt-rock sounds. The band consists of Lee Seunghyub (leader, rapper, vocalist, rhythm guitarist, and pianist), Cha Hun (guitarist and backup vocalist), Kim Jaehyun (drummer and percussionist), Yoo Hweseung (main vocalist), and Seo Dongsung (bassist and back-up vocalist). N.Flying won the Band Performer of the Year award in 2019 The Fact Music Awards. Some of their popular songs include "Rooftop," "Moonshot," "Blue Moon," and "I Like You."

10. Silica Gel

Silica Gel is an Indie Rock band. They first appeared in the Korean Rock scene on August 21, 2015. The band initially debuted with eight members but currently consists of only four members: Geonjae (leader and drummer), Hanjoo (vocalist, keyboardist, and pianist), Chunchu (vocalist and guitarist), and Woonghee (bassist). Silica Gel won the Rookie of the Year in 2017 and the Best Modern Rock Song In 2022 and 2023 at the Korean Music Awards. Some of their popular songs include "No Pain," "Desert eagle," and "Tik Tak Tok (feat. So!yoON!)."