Article: Top 10 K-Pop Groups Who Bombed Their Comeback

Top 10 K Pop Groups Who Bombed Their Comeback
Top 10 K Pop Groups Who Bombed Their Comeback

Some K-pop fans get very excited after hearing the news of their favorite bands' Comeback. These Bands come with something unique and special for their fans who waited for a long time.  Here we bring you a list of the top ten K-pop bands who made an epic comeback entry.

1. Super Junior

Super Junior, or SJ, is a K-pop band under SM Entertainment, composed of Heechul, Leeteuk, Yesung, Sungmin, Shindog, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Siwon, Ryeowook, and Kyuhyun.  In 2005, this group got formed, but it got abandoned in 2006. Super Junior released their best-selling single 'Sorry Sorry' in 2009. Then in 2019, the members went for military service. In 2022, Super Junior showered their fans with their comeback album 'The Road: Winter for Spring.' Their fandom name is ELFs.


2. Girl's Generation

Girls' Generation, or SNSD, is a K-pop girls group by SM Entertainment. They earned their honorific nickname as 'The Nation's Girl Group.' SNSD debuted in 2007 with the single 'Into the New World' and rose to fame in 2009 with 'Gee,' which got the top spot on Music Bank.  After winning the Youtube Music Awards, Girls' Generation continued to build popularity with their fifth and sixth studio albums, Lion Heart and Holiday Night (2017). Then they took a five-year hiatus to focus on their individual members' careers. In 2021, SNSD returned with their comeback album- Forever 1.


3. BigBang

BigBnag is a K-pop boy band under YG Entertainment. The group consists of G-Dragon, Teyang, T.O.P, and Daesung. The fifth member, Seungri, retired in March 2019. Big Bang got the title- 'Kings of K-pop' for spreading the Korean Wave internationally and is considered the most influential.  BigBnag went on hiatus in 2018 and announced a comeback in 2020, which got delayed due to the Covid Pandemic. In 2022, YG Entertainment announced its return with the single 'Still Life,' breaking the four-year hiatus.


4. Epik High

Epik High is a K-pop trio- Tablo, DJ Tukutz, and Mithra Jin. The group is under Woollim Entertainment and released their first album in 2003- Map of the Human Soul. This trio got famous with their follow-up albums, Swan Songs (2005), Remapping the Human Soul, and Pieces (2008).  After completing their mandatory military service, Epik High signed a contract with Y Entertainment in 2012 and released the studio albums 99, Shoebox, and We've Done Something Wonderful (2017).  In 2022, this group released their tenth album 'Epik High Is Here.'


5. Live High

Live High is a K-pop girl group trio under Red Creative Company. They debuted in 2013 with the single 'Hakuna Matata.' They made their Japanese debut in 2019 with EP Live High - Triple Jumping. After which- they disbanded in 2019. Almost two years after their first song debut, they had a comeback in May 2016 with their single 'Happy Song.'


6. Shu-I

Super Tribe or SHU-I (So Hot Union of Idols) was a K-pop five-member boyband. This group consisted of Hwang Inseok, Park Hyungjun, Jun Changhyun, [Park Minho, and Jinseok. SHU-I debuted in 2009 with their single 'Bomb Bomb Bomb.' They were active in Japan. SHU-I had their comeback song in 2013 with the single- 'Don't Be Down.'


7. Kara

Kara is a K-pop girl group by DSP Media. The group got formed in 2007 and consisted of Gyuri, Hara, Seungyeon, Jiyoung, Nicole, and Youngji.  KARA debuted in 2007 with the studio album 'The First Blooming' and the single 'Break It.'  After their disbandment in 2016, this group released their extended play 'Move Again' and had an official comeback in the 2022 MAMA Awards.


8. Winner 

Winner is a K-pop boy band with four members: Jinu, Mino, Hoony, and Seungyoon. The band got formed in 2013 through the survival show- WIN: Who is Next. They debuted in 2014 with the studio album 2014 S/S. WINNER is known for its endorsement deals with brands like Oreo, Adidas, and Kiehl's.  In 2015, WINNER went on hiatus, and the members pursued solo endeavors. They made their anticipated return in 2017 with the album 'Fate Number For.' After WINNER's third album release, Jin-woo became the first member to serve in the military. YG Entertainment announced the release of another album in 2022.


9. Highlight

Highlight, also known as Beast, is a K-pop boy band under Cube Entertainment. The band consist of Yoon Doo-Joon, Lee Gi-Kwang, Son Dong-Woon, and Yang Yo-Seob. Highlight debuted in 2009 with 'Beast Is the B2ST.' They released two Japanese albums, nine Korean plays, and many singles.  In 2018, the members enlisted for mandatory military service.  A year and a half after their hiatus, WINNER released The Blowing in 2022.


10. Davichi

Davichi is a K-pop duo formed in 2018 and consists of Lee Hae-Ri and Kang Min-Kyung. Their name 'Davichi' is a Korean phrase that means 'Shining over everything.' This duo has featured many albums and soundtracks for tv dramas such as Big (2012), It's Okay, That's Love (2014), and Descendants of the Sun (2016). In 2022, Davichi released their seventh play, Season Note, with the single 'Fanfare.'