Article: Top 10 Groups That Debuted Through Survival Shows

After the massive success of the Produce survival program, survival shows became famous as well as a trend in South Korea. Groups like I.O.I; Wanna One, IZ*ONE, and X1 became popular and iconic to remember till the end of the day. After this immense popularity, companies launched their survival program to make another iconic group that could write history. Here are some K-pop icons that paved the way.

1. Twice

TWICE was formed through a Survival show, SIXTEEN. It was launched by JYP Entertainment in partnership with Mnet. The show aired in 2015 and aimed to debut seven members in a new girl group. Nayeon, Sana, Jihyo, Mina, Jeongyeon, Dahyun, and Chaeyoung made it into the line-up. However, JYP Entertainment's founder decided to debut a nine-member girl group instead of seven. Momo, and Tyuzu were selected. TWICE is the most popular girl group and is known as the second 'Nation Girl Group.’

2. Momoland

MOMOLAND debuted through a Survival program titled Finding MOMOLAND, in 2016, by MLD Entertainment. The show had ten trainees competing with each other to debut in the new girl group. By the end of the show, Hyebin, Ahin, Jane, JooE, Nancy, Nayun, and Yeonwoo made it into the line-up. However, former survival show contestants; Daisy and Taeha debuted as the other two members in MOMOLAND in 2017. Currently, the group consists of Nayun, Hyebin, Jane, Nancy, Ahin, and JooE.

3. Monsta X

MONSTA X formed through the survival program NO.MERCY. It was organized by Starship Entertainment with Mnet. The show aired in December 2014. Initially, the program had twelve trainees, but by the eighth episode, the contestants increased to thirteen when I.M joined in the middle of the show. At the end of the show, the chosen trainees were Shownu, Wonho, Minhyuk, Kihyun, Hyungwon, Jooheon, and I.M, they debuted as members of MONSTA X and are known for their powerful dancing skills, rapping and, vocals.

4. Seventeen

SEVENTEEN debuted in 2015. The group was formed through the reality show SEVENTEEN Project. In this show, trainees have to compete with their company. SEVENTEEN debuted as a thirteen-member group and became one of the most influential groups in the industry. They are titled as Self-producing idols, the most synchronized group. They compose and write their songs, and make the choreography.

5. Pentagon

Pentagon debuted through a survival show which aired in 2016. The survival show titled Pentagon Maker organized by CUBE Entertainment with Mnet to debut a new boy group. Trainees were evaluated individually or in units based on their talent and teamwork in the show. Contestants, Shinwon, E.Dawn, and Yanan, were eliminated from the show. But they debuted with the other members, Jinho, Hui, Hongseok, Yeo One, Yuro, Kino, and Wooseok, making a line-up from seven to ten.

6. Enhypen

Enhypen debuted through a Survival show titled I-LAND, where a total of 22 contestants competed against each other. This show consisted of 12 episodes. The evaluation was based on the group performances, dancing, and vocal skills. K-pop stars like Zico and Rain were among the judges. At show's end, Heesung, Jake, Jay, Sunghoon, Sunoo, Jungwon and Ni-Ki made it into the seven members' debut line-up.

7. SF9

FNC Entertainment formed their first ever boy group through the survival Dance or Band. The members didn’t compete against one another in this show so that they could debut; instead, they had to decide whether they debut as a dance-based group or an instrumental-themed group. SF9 made its debut in October 2016 with nine members line-up in the group with the first single album Feeling Sensation. Jaeyoon, Dawon, Youngbin, Rowoon, Zuho, Inseong, Yoo Taeyang, Hwiyoung, and Chani were the nine members who made it to the final line-up.

8. iKON

Before their debut as iKON, all of the iKON members competed against Winner (Team A) on the survival show titled 'WIN: Who Is Next.' as Team B. However, Team B was not able to debut through this program, but the fans' love and support for Team B caused YG to give the iKON members another chance with the new survival show 'Mix and Match.' YG added new trainees in this new show to compete with each other and create the final line-up of members. iKON debuted in 2015 with the seven members line-up group.

9. Winner

Alongside their fellow label-mates named Team B, the WINNER members competed on the survival show titled WIN: Who Is Next, in 2013. After winning against Team B, the WINNER members officially debuted in August 2014. Their debut song was composed by iKON's B.I.

10. 2 AM And 2 PM

2 AM and 2 PM were formed through the same show. At first, 2 AM and 2 PM members were under a group named One Day. They appeared in the show titled Hot Blood Men, which features the group's rigorous training program and eliminations of trainees from the group. At the end of the show, One Day had eleven members. Then, the eleven members were split into two groups: 2PM, a hip-hop group, consisting of Jay Park, Jun.K, Nichkhun, Taecyeon, Wooyoung, Junho, and Chansung. The 2AM, a ballad group;.consisted of Jo Kwon, Lee Changmin, Lim Seulong, and Jeong Jinwon.